Skip To Main Content

Four MIHS Media Technology and Filmmaking Students Win Telly Awards

Four MIHS Media Technology and Filmmaking Students Win Telly Awards
Michael Ketchum & MISD Communications
L-R:  Wesley Stokke, Hadley Holtzclaw, Maxwell Viafore, and Hannah Moeller.

L-R:  Wesley Stokke, Hadley Holtzclaw, Maxwell Viafore, and Hannah Moeller.

Mercer Island, WA, May 28, 2024 - Mercer Island High School announced today that the following works submitted by students in the Media Technology and Filmmaking class led by teacher, Michael Ketchum, were awarded the following awards and recognition in the record breaking 45th Annual Telly Awards:

  • (dis) continued, a short film by Hadley Holtzclaw, GOLD TELLY WINNER
  • Stage Three: White Flora, a short film by Hannah Moeller, GOLD TELLY WINNER
  • The Fine Art of Never Getting Started, a short film by Maxwell Viafore, BRONZE TELLY WINNER
  • The Hike, a short film by Wesley Stokke, BRONZE TELLY WINNER

Watch MIHS Student Award Winning Videos Now

The Telly Awards honors excellence in video and television across all screens and is judged by leaders from video platforms, television, streaming networks, production companies. This year’s winners include Adobe, Calvin Klein, ESPN, LinkedIn, Mother Jones, MTV Entertainment Studios, NASA, the LA Clippers (NBA), PlayStation Studios, Sawhorse Productions, TelevisaUnivison and more. 

“This is the second year for the Media Technology and Filmmaking course at Mercer Island High School and it's a great example of what happens when we unleash the skills and the imagination of America’s young people,” said instructor Michael Ketchum.  “When we provide these young adults with the best opportunities and technology and resources, there’s no telling what they’ll create -- now and the years ahead.

“I couldn’t be prouder of what they’ve accomplished and their ability to tell their stories in ways that reach such an incredible audience. That’s the power of what is being done here at MIHS. Experiences like these are about helping our youth to connect in new and meaningful ways, whether it’s somebody as close as their parents, or somebody on an iPad halfway around the world who may share more in common with them than they might think. Congratulations to our students!”

Committed to pushing the boundaries of creativity forward, this year’s Telly Awards  new categories included topics within Generative AI, Brand Collaboration, Use of Data Visualization, Thought Leadership and Accessibility. This was a record-breaking year with nearly 13,000 entries from across the globe and top video and television content producers. Winners were chosen by The Telly Awards Judging Council which includes Nathalie Van Sasse Van Ysselt, VP of Design and Creative Services, MSG Sphere Studios; Barry Christie, Global Creative Lead, Meta Creative Shop; Farihah Zaman, Director, member of Brown Girl Doc Mafia; Aiden Darné, VP, Global Studio Lead Shutterstock; Malinda Wink, Executive Director Minderoo Pictures. 

“The caliber of the work this season truly has reflected the theme of going beyond the frame. Our industry is experimenting with new technologies like never before, crafting truly compelling stories to draw attention to some of the world’s most pressing issues,” shares Telly Awards Managing Director Amanda Needham. “The Telly Awards is uniquely positioned to meet the industry where it’s actually making work, be that on television or TikTok.”

More News